HTTP/1.1 200 OK Date: Sat, 04 Jul 2015 06:58:34 GMT Server: Apache/1.3.31 (Unix) mod_auth_tkt/1.3.11 PHP/4.3.8 mod_ssl/2.8.19 OpenSSL/0.9.7d mod_perl/1.29 X-Powered-By: PHP/4.3.8 Set-Cookie: cookieConsent=X; path=/ Connection: close Content-Type: text/html Antarctic Treaty - Frequently Asked Questions - British Antarctic Survey

Our site is using cookies to record anonymous visitor statistics and enhance your user experience. OK  |  Find out more

Skip navigation

About Antarctica - Dramatic clouds above Reptile Ridge, Adelaide Island

About Antarctica

Antarctic Treaty - Frequently Asked Questions

Home » About Antarctica » Geopolitics » The Antarctic Treaty » Frequently Asked Questions »

How was the Antarctic Treaty formed?

The Antarctic Treaty was signed in Washington on the 1 December 1959 by 12 nations that had been active in Antarctica during the International Geophysical Year (IGY) in 1957-58. The IGY was the first multi-nation research program of its kind in Antarctica where the nations involved, agreed that any political or legal differences would not interfere with the science. The success of the IGY lead to the agreement that peaceful cooperation on the continent should continue indefinitely; and ultimately lead to the negotiation of the Antarctic Treaty.

Who are the Antarctic Treaty members?

The 12 original signatories were: Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Chile, France, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, South Africa, United Kingdom, United States and the USSR.
The Treaty provides that any member of the United Nations can join and now membership has reached 46 of which 28 are consultative parties with voting status. Consultative status is open to any country that can demonstrate its commitment to Antarctica by conducting significant research.

How does the Antarctic Treaty operate?

The Antarctic Treaty entered into force on the 23 June 1961 in the same year as the first Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting (ATCM). Since then, members have met regularly during ATCMs and now continue to meet annually in order to discuss:

Activities in Antarctica are governed through the Antarctic Treaty System (ATS) rules, provided by the original Treaty along with three international agreements, negotiated during the ATCMs:

The Treaty has been recognised as one of the most successful international agreements and remains in force indefinitely. It provides that any party can call for a review conference after the expiration of 30 years. Since 1991, the 30th Anniversary of the Treaty, no party has called for a review recognising the Treaty’s continued strength and relevance.

What are the objectives of the Antarctic Treaty?

How does the Antarctic Treaty protect the environment?

In the 1980s the consultative parties to the Treaty began developing the Regulations of Antarctic Mineral Resource Activities. However, before it was ratified it was agreed to expand their efforts into a more comprehensive system to include the protection of the Antarctic Environment. This developed into the Protocol on Environmental Protection to the Antarctic Treaty, signed on 4 October 1991.

What does the Environmental Protocol state?

The Environmental Protocol commits the Parties to the “comprehensive protection of the Antarctic environment” and designates Antarctica as a “natural reserve, devoted to peace and science”. It sets out principles for environmental protection:

Back to Top Email to a Friend

© NERC-BAS 2015

Change Text Only Settings

Graphic version of this page